Sun Diego Boardshops 2014 AM SLAM Skate Series Recap

Sun Diego Boardshops 2014 AM SLAM Skate Series Recap

A recap of the entire AM SLAM Skate Series. 


The AM SLAM Skate Series is a unique point-based series contest designed to give local skaters an arena to compete and an opportunity to excel in skateboarding. Each year we stop at four different skateparks in San Diego county to host this all-day skate event with our sponsors, competitors, and their spectators. This year we added the new Lakeside Skatepark and PQ Skatepark to the tour, along with our normal stops at Belmont Park and Melba Bishop Skatepark. Each event was poppppin' with booths, games, and prizes from our awesome sponsors and catered tacos from Senor Grubbys... holla!

The competition throughout the entire series was extremely close.  It came down to our last competition at PQ park to really see who would take the win of their entire division. In the Pro/Am division we ended up with a tie. With Chase Webb not showing and Brendon Villanueva taking first at event #4, the overall standings point put them tied for first with dead even points for the first time in AM SLAM history. Alexis Ramirez who did not win any AM SLAMs, but showed up and killed it at every event this season, took third place.

The 17 & over top 3 winners we're loyal AM SLAM competitors this season, each of them competing in every event. Tanner Lawler came in hot with a total of 3,500 points, placing in the top three at 3 out of the 4 events this season. Team riders PeeJay Encina and Korey Escobar came in second and third place, taking home first place at one event each, and killing it the rest of the season!

Mateo Rael scored a well deserved first place in the 14-16 division coming in with 3,300 points, also competing in all four events this year. Team rider Angel Gutierrez took first at our last event which placed him in second, and just 100 points behind, Cam Sedlick took third.

Team rider Corando Russell went BIG this year in the 13 & under division. Competing in all four events and taking first place at PQ Park took him to the top and got him the AM SLAM first place title. Team rider Brennan Babcock came close behind, only 200 points behind Cordano, putting Branden Stelma in third.

Cruise back in time and check photos + video of a specific event by clicking your choice below

EVENT 1  //  EVENT 2  //  EVENT 3  //   EVENT 4  //  FINALS


To see where you placed this series, check our Point Standings page.  We’d like to thank you to everyone who came out and participated in the events this year and a huge thanks to all of our sponsors who help make the Am Slam Series possible!