2022 Sun Diego Boardshops Am Slam Surf Contest Series Event 1 at San Clemente Recap

2022 Sun Diego Boardshops Am Slam Surf Contest Series Event 1 at San Clemente Recap

The 8th Season of Am Slam started with a bang on the penultimate weekend of June at San Clemente Pier. Sunny skies and fun waves greeted all competitors for what was a memorable weekend.

Parker Cohn (Newport Beach) was in form all day snagging quality waves and performing solidly on each opportunity. He grabbed the win by narrowly edging out Caleb Crozier (Encinitas) by a mere .03 points on a last second effort that garnered him a 7-point ride. $2000 and drinks for the boys went to the San Clemente Pier champ for his inaugural win on Am Slam’s mini tour. Wesley Santos (HB) and Rafael Pereira (Oceanside) rounded out the final in third and fourth respectively.

On Sunday the Amateurs took over and put on a show!

The new mini grom 11U division stole the show as the last heat of the day on Sunday. Cheers could be heard all around as Bodhi Aguilar took the first ever division title in his hometown!

Also, recent USA Surfing Championships finalist Eden Walla took the win over an in-form Hana Johnson in some challenging conditions for the Womens Shortboard title.

Tiare Thompson was the class of the Womens Longboard division taking the hotly contested win for her first of the season!

The 14U division was absolutely dominated by Sun Diego Team Rider Luke MacBeth. His surfing was smooth and aggressive at the point of attack. He took no prisoners and took home the dub.

The 15+ division is always a show. A Mix of pros from the previous day and amateurs trying to make a name for themselves. Team USA member Kyan Yang dominated the final with his patented backhand whips to seal up the victory over second place finisher Titus Santucci. Both were tops in their respective heats all day and it was fitting they finished 1st and 2nd respectively to end the day.

PB Drive is next and we can’t wait! Please join us July 23-24 for some fun and sun at Am Slam Event #2

Go to liveheats.com/amslam to sign up now!