Welcome to Sun Diego Boardshop


2018 Am Slam Surf Series Presented By Vans Finale Recap


See all the details of what went down at the final stop of the Sun Diego x Vans Am Slam Surf Series!2018 Sun Diego Am Slam Finale

AM SLAM 2018 #4 Mission Beach

Sun Diego Am Slam Surf Series Presented by Vans hit its final event for 2018 at Mission Beach last Saturday. The event took place on the 13th of October, making it the latest in the year that last event has ever been run.  Due to this, inclement weather crept in to the forecast for the event. Thunder and lightning spread throughout the county the night before causing some anxious moments for both competitors and organizers. In the end it turned out to be nothing more than a great light show and the final event of the AM Slam Surf Series went off without a hitch.

San Diego Local, Tiare Thompson, showed up for her first event of the season and blew up the women’s longboard division! She was clear of all other competitors by six points en route to a victory in the division! Of note, season point’s leader, Jessica Taft, took a strong third place securing her overall points crown!!!!!

Tiare wasn’t done yet! She still had one more final to surf! With that said, her and Julia Guild went back and forth in this exciting 20 minute heat. Both girls mixing there back hand and fore hand prowess to produce solid scores. In the end, Tiare edged Julia and took her second win of the day! Julia, however, with her second place finish secured first place in the point standings and took the overall championship for 2018.

Ocean Beach Local Nathan Strom, Joel Tudor Protégé and Vans team rider entered his second event of the season at Mission Beach. He ended up right where he left of at the Ocean Beach event, First place! He used his great mix of style and flow to maximize nose rides and speed turns! He put on a clinic of classic longboarding style while walking away the victor.

The boys division for the Am Slam series has come down to two groms, last years champ Tyrone Fomenko and up start Ben Brantell. They are San Clemente groms and great friends. They spend most of their days pushing each other to go bigger and bigger! This season was no different as the two groms finished 1,2 in the overall season standings with Tyrone taking his second straight season standings title for the Am Slam Series. Saturday, however, was all about Titus Santucci. The perpetually stoked grom quietly got through his heats all day and saved a little something extra for the final locking down the two highest scores of the heat on the way to a dominant victory in the division!!!!!!

Carlsabad wonderkid , Dagan Stagg was a late arrival to the series this year starting his campaign in the third event of the season. He finished second in his first event so he figured he should give it another go! Well, the only improvement he could have made through his maiden voyage of Am Slam was getting 1st and that is exactly what he did! He used progressive surfing and superior wave knowledge to secure the victory! With his victory (and the double points associated with the last event) he took the overall championship as well! What a day for the Grom!!!

The drama was high for the Pro Am final! Two competitors in the running for the overall crown were neck and neck slotted against each other in the 20 minute affair. Tales Aroujo, and Maxsswell Rebeiro were so close that one spot difference between could have been the difference. Unfortunately, Three newcomers to the series got in both their way of securing a title. Levi Slawson, Encinitas, was the main obstructor of the two Brazilians chances. He laid down clean power lines with a touch of flair to secure the victory with the two highest scores of the heat. Tales and Maxsswell were relegated to 4th and 5th respectively. They had to wait it out as scores were tallied and points garnered to see the final results. In the end, Tales had amassed enough points for the overall victory with his fourth place finish and took home the $1000 prize!!!!

Thanks to the 200 competitors that came to event #4! It was truly our best event to date! The coinciding skate competition, 805 beer garden, amazing bands, and awesome surfing made this a day for the books! Big Thanks go out to Sun Diego Boardshops, Vans, Nixon, Creatures of Leisure, SPY, Leus, Stance, FCS, Bones Love Milk, SUJA, RX Bars and many many more!!! We can’t wait for summer next year and look to have another fun season in America’s finest city!!!


Mens Pro/ Am:

  1. Levi Slawson
  2. Kaue Germano
  3. Bryan Perez
  4. Tales Aroujo
  5. Maxsswell Rebeiro
  6. Ethan Grant


  1. Dagan Stagg
  2. Sean Carlin
  3. Mick Davey
  4. Steve Muschett
  5. Zach McCormick
  6. Noah Brown


  1. Titus Santucci
  2. Ben Brantell
  3. Silas Patracelli
  4. Tyrone Fomenko
  5. Arata Tomatsuri
  6. Aiden Henderson

 Mens Longboard:

  1. Nathan Strom
  2. Jack Van Wagoner
  3. Landon Southard
  4. Marcelo Moran
  5. Noah Brown
  6. Justice Guevera

Womens Shortboard:

  1. Tiare Thompson
  2. Julian Guild
  3. Molly Tuschen
  4. Skylar Bertsch
  5. Coral McDuffee
  6. Mara Morales

Womens Longboard:

  1. Tiare Thompson
  2. Molly Tuschen
  3. Jessica Taft
  4. Ellah Campagna
  5. Izzy Poulin



2018 Sun Diego Am Slam Surf Finale