Sun Diego AM Slam Surf Pacific Beach PB Drive

O'Neill x Sun Diego AM SLAM Surf Event 3 – PB Drive

Stop #3 of the Sun Diego Am Slam Surf Series Presented by O'Neill kicked off at PB Drive in Pacific Beach in small beachbreak conditions and beautiful weather!!! All the competitors did well making the small conditions look fun and contestable. There were considerable performances all day in every division.
Video courtesy of Toby Ogden.
Waves weren't the towering variety seen recently at Teahupo'o, but everyone made the best of what arrived and some great surfing went down throughout the day. Picturesque views from the shore. untitled (133 of 168)-X2 Canopies in effect! Sun Diego Oneill Am Slam Surf Pacific Beach PB Drive The quiver of surfboards between heats. IMG_1749 untitled (3 of 168)-X2 Groms sharing a little party wave action. untitled (40 of 168)-X2 Team rider Ryan Martin takes a break on shore. untitled (43 of 168)-X2 untitled (56 of 168)-X2 untitled (75 of 168)-X2 untitled (86 of 168)-X2 Things wound down and everyone gathered 'round to see who made the podium and whose hands would cary the big check. IMG_1803 Groms look on in envy as the little man takes home the prize! IMG_1770 Just kidding. Mick Davey took first place in the boy's division. IMG_1777 Jacob Szekely was on point in the Mens division and took his second title in a row! Sun Diego O'Neill Am Slam Surfing Pacific Beach PB Drive IMG_1808 Bethany Zelasko took down our largest Womens field to date, with Sidney Tisdel taking the runner up spot. IMG_1820 IMG_1833 Ethan Grant surfed great all day making two finals and taking home the Juniors title. IMG_1800 No one, however, pro or amateur, could touch Nate Yeomans. Obviously still feeling confident from his quarterfinal finish at the US Open, the goofyfoot from San Clemente laid waste to the field.  Riding  a new ...Lost  V3 with Black dart technology, it was  "...One of the fastest boards I've ever ridden." said Yeomans. He took the $1600 payday and much needed diaper money for the two kiddos at home. untitled (163 of 168)-X2 IMG_1851 IMG_1879 All in all it was a great day with awesome prizes and great surfing! Thanks to all of our sponsors: Sun Diego, O'Neill, Nixon, Spy, DaKine, ...Lost, Toyota of Carlsbad, Surface, Mizu, Captain Fin, Xsories, and Flippin Pizza for their amazing support! Join us September 26th and 27th @ Seaside Reef for our season finale. It will include our AM SLAM Skate final and custom skate park, 6 bands and a DJ playing all afternoon, and amazing surfing action! Go to to sign up today!   Results   Pro Am Final
  1. Nate Yeomans
  2. Jay Christenson
  3. Pete Mussio
  4. Rigard Smit
  Mens Final
  1. Jacob Szekely
  2. Pete Mussio
  3. Jay Christenson
  4. Ethan Grant
  5. Remi Juboori
  6. Jared Fearon
  Juniors Final
  1. Ethan Grant
  2. Ben Barone
  3. Ryan Martin
  4. Parker Cohn
  5. Jared Fearon
  6. Micah Crozier
  Boys Final
  1. Mick Davey
  2. Levi Slawson
  3. Caleb Crozier
  4. Lucas Owston
  5. Fisher Devoe
  6. Benji VanZandt
  Womens Final
  1. Bethany Zelasko
  2. Sidney Tisdel
  3. Avalon Johnson
  4. Coral McDuffee
  5. Sidney Johnson
  6. Maya Saulino
Click to view the overall series standings here.
 Video and photos courtesy of Toby Ogden and Nick Parks