2018 Am Slam Surf Event 3 Recap

2018 Am Slam Surf Series Presented By Vans Event #3 Recap

See all the details of what went down at the second stop of the Sun Diego x Vans Am Slam Surf Series 2018 Am Slam Event #3 Winners AM SLAM 2018 #3 Ocean Beach Pier Sun Diego Am Slam Surf Series Presented by Vans flared up for event #3 in the always funky Ocean Beach! A really fun 2-4 ft. combo swell greeted the competitors on Saturday the 18th. The Womens Longboard Final got underway in soft but fun conditions with lefts coming through the pier providing a lot of room to put together some great rides. Jessica Taft took her first victory of the season with graceful surfing and nerves of steel as she consistently shot the pier on her waves utilizing the length of ride on offer. Well, what more can you say about Bethany Zelasko? She is undefeated this season that should tell you all you need to know. But the final at Ocean Beach Pier showed how tenacious a competitor she is. Fellow finalist Bailey Nage was pulling way with the lead midway through the 20 minute final. Bethany, not wanting to succumb to Bailey she stayed close to her and forced Bailey into a tactical error that garnered Bailey an interference. This moment fired up Bethany and she took her surfing next level. Throwing big drop wallets and fiery fast lip hacks. It was an inspired performance and incredibly fun to watch! Ocean Beach Local Nathan Strom was a late addition to the field, signing up a mere hour before the longboard division got under way. The local used his knowledge of OB Pier to his advantage and grabbed the most conducive waves to his smooth flowy style. He cross stepped and slammed some big finishes to fend off South American stand out Amada Alvarado for the victory! Sun Diego team rider, Ben Brantell, has been consistemt force in the AM SLAM events for a few years now. Saturday he finally broke through for his inaugural victory over friend Tyrone Fomenko. Ben’s backhand attack looked strong all day and it continued in the final as he used a searing combination of turns to garner the single highest score of the final. With a solid back up score he sealed the victory and an outside shot at the overall title coming in to the final event of the season! It has been a while since we have seen San Clemente wonderkid  Liam Murray , he has been hot on the Prime circuit and WSL Junior Tour. Liam took a break from the grind to have some fun at AM SLAM and his surfing was amazing!!! Liam set himself apart all day and used the final to show off his exquisite rail game and technical prowess to combo the field in Juniors. Our last heat of the day turned out to be a Grind fest!!! The waves that had blessed most of the 5 other finals seemed to turn off for the Pro/ Am Final  Brazilian, Magno Pacheco ( former Am Slam Winner)  was cruising all day, posting solid scores but smartly not over exerting himself. In the final, it was a different story. Magno went to the air and to lightning fast turns to make the meager conditions look fun! He almost comboed all the finals competitors en route to his $500 pay day!! Thanks to the 106 competitors that came to event #3!! It was truly and exciting and fun filled day!! We hope to see you October 13th at Mission Beach’s famed Belmont Park for the Am Slam 2018 finale. There will be a skate obstacle course , surfing, vendor tent city , and a beer garden presented by 805 Brewing. Don’t miss it! Results: Mens Pro/ Am
  1. Magno Pacheco
  2. Gustavo Aroujo
  3. JD Lewis
  4. Lucca Mesinas
  5. Rafael Pereira
  6. Icaro Rodrigues
  1. Liam Murray
  2. Dagan Stagg
  3. Mick Davey
  4. Jackson Butler
  5. Noah Brown
  6. Steven Muschett
  1. Ben Brantell
  2. Tyrone Fomenko
  3. Arata Tomatsuri
  4. Lewis Aberle
  5. Cameron Sheahan
  6. Evan Gallen
Men's Longboard
  1. Nathan Strom
  2. Amada Alvarado
  3. Noah Brown
  4. Bobby Hasbrook
  5. Jack Van Wagoner
  6. Sam Rankin
Women's Shortboard
  1. Bethany Zelasko
  2. Bailey Nage
  3. Julia Guild
  4. Abbey Dixon
  5. Coral McDuffee
  6. Molly Tuschen
 Women's Longboard
  1. Jessica Taft
  2. Mikaya Farner
  3. Molly Tuschen
  4. Ellah Campagna
Overall Am Slam Surf Series Standings 2018 Am Slam Surf #3